If like me, you’ve ever wondered who buys a thong for their 4-yr. old, now you know

Question: ​What’s worse than a culture that produces media and marketing forces whose life mission appears to be promoting the idea that- as a woman, your primary value is as a sexual object? 

Answer: A culture in which ​some parents are complicit in instilling that idea in the minds of their own daughters.

When you check out the video at the link below, you’ll see what I mean. Thank you Becoming SuperMommy for the heartfelt and insightful writing in your post.

More questions.. Are the parents and the other adults responsible for teaching the routine and then putting on this performance misguided enough to believe this is.. what.. cute? Do they think it’s OK precisely because the girls are so young (so they can’t grasp the greater context)? I’m no genius, but I’m pretty sure these little girls will grow to become big girls. I wonder what their answer will be when each one asks herself, Who am I? What do I have to offer? 

I understand the video is a couple years old now, but ​it’s the first time I’ve seen it:

http://becomingsupermommy.blogspot.com/2012/01/thank-heavens-for-little-girls.html

Leave a Reply

